Throwing Stuff — Story Three

I think it’s time we included Lee in this, don’t you? Two brief recollections come to mind.

First, there was the time he threw a rock at a squirrel and knocked it out. It was an incredible shot. He was standing in the yard one Sunday afternoon and noticed a squirrel on the ground near the other end of the driveway…perhaps 90 feet away. He thought, “I might as well throw at it,” and reached down and picked up a piece of gravel. But then the squirrel bolted for the woods. With a fast reflex throw, Lee slung the rock ahead of the sprinting rodent and popped it in the head! Uncertain as to its exact physical state, he put it under a milk crate, for observation and to shield it from our pets. A while later, the squirrel awakened, most likely with a capybara-sized headache. Unimpressed with its cubic infirmary, the squirrel paniced, or “went berserk” as Ray Stevens put it, and was released without making a followup appointment.

And second: Lee had a friend named Chris who lived at the other end of a long agricultural field from us. Chris and Lee were about the same age, but we all played together sometimes. At his house were several plum trees that were loaded down with big, red fruit, 2 – 2.5 inches across. I don’t remember how it started, but we were there one summer day and a plum war broke out. The over-ripe ones were scattered everywhere on the ground, and those were our prime ammunition. Upon contact with their target, they would splatter into a sticky, smelly, insect-attracting “wound”. We pounded each other with them. The best (that is, nastiest) plums were so squishy and putrid with gagslime that the thrower could only lob them softly toward the enemy; otherwise they erupted in the thrower’s hand and made him dance around in a grossed-out way at what he had done to himself. A hit on the head that got such juices into the enemy’s hair was the best, although, officially, I think I remember face and head to be off limits — we didn’t want to hit anyone in the eye…that would have gotten us into trouble. When it was over, we had to wash ourselves off completely with the hose in the yard. Chris actually had to take off his clothes before going back in the house; at least we could dry off while walking back home across the field. Conversation with Lee reveals that this activity was something he and Chris embarked upon several times, and with some degree of methodology to it.

Here’s a bonus account that I remembered. When Daddy was a boy, there were lots of different farm animals around, and his mother (Eunice, my grandmother) kept some guineas for a while. One day a guinea got in the garden where it didn’t need to be, and young Steve Allen (as relatives back in those black-and-white years called him) was insturucted to catch the guinea and remove it from the garden. [Let me pause here and opine that telling someone to “catch a guinea” sounds rather like a good way to get them out of your hair for the rest of the day. This very swift and agile running bird may not have been the most pressing aggravation in Grandmother’s mind, that day, if you catch my meaning!]

I don’t know how long the chase lasted, but it ended when Daddy threw a rock at the bird, hitting it in the head, killing it. His explanation was that he didn’t mean to kill it, but just knock it out so he could catch it. His siblings, showing standard sibling-style support, eventually enhanced the story, saying it was Grandmother’s favorite guinea.

So, you see, I am an amateur among all-stars. To throw and hit a slow-moving Victor is not that impressive compared to nailing a running squirrel at 30 yards or connecting with the tiny head of a guinea bobbing and weaving through a vegetable garden. There is in throwing, as in life, always something more to which to aspire.

One story remains.

Published in: on March 8, 2008 at 4:35 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://9balance9.wordpress.com/2008/03/08/throwing-stuff-story-three/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I remember being involved in at least one of the plum wars. I remember getting hit in the eye with one of the soft squishy plums.

    I remember an incident where I was the thrower who hit an unintended mark. I was riding my bicycle, and Rufus our dog was trying to nip at the front tire of the bike. I decided that I could scare him away by throwing a rock near him. Rather than hitting near him the rock struck him squarely between the eyes. He yelped in pain, and I was struck by the same feelings of remorse described elsewhere in the throwing stories.

    .
    .
    Response from Steve:
    Thanks for adding in those memories, Victor. I believe that might be the first citing of Rufus on this blog, and it was overdue. Great dog.

  2. [Note to Jeff: As far as I’m aware, “gagslime” is not a previously known word. If my usage of it leaves confusion as to my intent, a definition could be devised.]

  3. It sounds like your affinity for throwing stuff is deeply rooted…even, I dare say, inherited! I guess that comes in handy. You never know when you’ll need to knock off a guinea or two. 🙂

    In spite of my teasing, I have really enjoyed the stories. They have reminded me of my own childhood…I’m well acquainted with gagslime of pears…but your stories have also deepened my appreciation for the not-so-secret life of boys which I find fairly fascinating.

    Still wondering what happened to poor Aunt Ethel’s house…

    I’ve also been thinking about the interesting symbolic connection between THROWING stuff and SAYING stuff…both the benefits and dangers of hitting a target…and the elation or remorse that inevitably ensues.

    .
    .
    Response from Steve:
    I’m glad you’ve been enjoying them. I’m having fun trying to relate them as they seemed.

    Yes, I would think there are some strong connections between throwing and saying. You can say more, if you like.

  4. With all this throwing stuff in your genes, not to mention all the practice, no wonder I am outgunned by you on the disc golf course! Funny, this never came up before, and I seem to recall a recent challenge?

    Great stories, and new vocabulary (just when I decided not to check the old lexicon any longer)!

    Jason, Ryan, and I got out on the local disc golf course Saturday. The outdoor thermometer indicated the temperature was a balmy 45F or so at 4:30PM, so we decided to give it a try. Well, let me tell you that the thermometer sensor was directly in the sun, and a more accurate temperature of 26F was rendered by the car thermometer on the way to the course! We had a great time with scores of 57, 62, and 68 for Jason, myself, and Ryan respectively. The challenge in these temperatures isn’t so much in staying warm, the exertion and movement takes care of that, but in keeping the fingers on your throwing hand warm enough to feel and grip the disc! It was nice to be out, and the cold temperatures kept the snow really hard. It was not unusual to get another 30-50 feet out of a drive after the initial skip!

    .
    .
    Response from Steve:
    Hey, Jeff. Great account of your recent outing. That would be so much fun to play in the snow like that.

    The challenge you mention…yes, I hope that can emerge for this spring or summer. Should it be a fund-raiser, you think?

    Genes and history, huh? Funny.

  5. Awww, Rufus! He was such a sweet doggy.

    .
    .
    Response from Steve:
    Yep. Rufus seems to be the easy favorite of all the dogs we had growing up.

    Good to hear from you, Jill.


Leave a comment