I Run Out of Stuff to Write, Sometimes

P9125528

…so I shoot basketball. This afternoon while waiting around I saw a chance to get sweaty. I grabbed the push broom and cleared the gravel and other debris from the concrete basketball court. And I played a game of Speed 100, thoroughly exhausting myself.

When I was done, I lay down on the parking lot to recover and see if I could make a sweat angel. It didn’t work.
P9125536

Several cool things drifted across the September blue above where I lay: an American Goldfinch, a Common Nighthawk, a hawk too high to name without binoculars, one of the large yellow sulfurs, some dragonflies, and a feather.

P9125531

Then I came inside, made the sandwich, poured a glass of milk, got cleaned up, and did some more waiting. Fridays can be good like that.

Published in: on September 13, 2008 at 1:05 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://9balance9.wordpress.com/2008/09/13/i-run-out-of-stuff-to-write-sometimes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. fun post. i like the sweat angel thing. very funny.

    .
    .
    Response from Steve:
    Thanks; glad you liked it, Lore. I hope your September is advancing pleasantly, meaningfully.

  2. It sounds to me like a wonderful day! I sat on our porch Sunday afternoon. The temp was in the 70’s, blue sky with puffy clouds chasing each other. I sat and watched hummingbirds and clouds for over an hour, and felt full. To be able to revel in God’s simple gifts, to realize that they really Aren’t that simple, and to be able to write about it, is a great gift. Thank you for sharing. 🙂 One of my favorite of your posts.
    B

    .
    .
    Response from Steve:
    Wow, thanks, Bryan! It’s always great to hear from you. I hope we can get together soon.


Leave a Reply

