Two Courses in Rock Hill

0229081454a
cellphone photo by Victor Patterson

Victor and I played two rounds of disc golf in Rock Hill last week. We started at Winthrop University’s lakeside course around 10:15 in the morning. Several others who were to meet us had plan changes and were unable to arrive, so it was just the two of us. We had each played this course once, previously. That was over two years ago, but I was still intimidated by the memory of that previous round. When we played in 2005, on a single hole (# 9) I lost two discs, and on the next hole Victor lost one (a Scorpion and Cyclone for me, and a Leopard for him, all of them sinking in the lake). This time, we both played conservatively. My overcompensation and inability to make easy putts hurt my score. When the eighteen were finished, Victor came out three strokes better than me, the first time he has ever beaten me, according to him. Congratulations!

After lunch at McHale’s Irish Pub and a visit to Old Town Outfitters to look at discs, we drove to Boyd Hill Park for an afternoon round. I won this one, but it was still a lot of ugly throwing for both of us. This course has trees like the ones on The Wizard of Oz that reach out and grab your discs or jump into the flight path after you’ve released the throw. Holes 7-11 are particularly thick and oppressive. It’s hard to concentrate on your game when you’re slinking through the gloom, looking over your shoulder for flying monkeys.

We had fun, and I hope we get to throw together again soon.

Published in: on March 3, 2008 at 2:07 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://9balance9.wordpress.com/2008/03/03/two-courses-in-rock-hill/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Cell phone cameras sure have come a long way in the last few years!

    Very cool that you had the opportunity to get out and enjoy two different courses in one outing. I’ve been watching your weather, and it looks like a good time of the year to be out on the courses!

    Victor can attest that parts of our local course in Freeland are in swampy areas, and parts are heavily wooded (with alot of undergrowth in mid summer). I don’t care for the mosquitos, but I really like the diversity and challenge of the course. It is fun to go from sunny open holes in the midst of fir trees to the dark swampy holes under the canopy of hardwoods.

    Now that you mention it, I think that I lost a disc to the flying monkeys on hole 8.

    Did you get the photos of the course (and current northern weather) I sent a few days ago?

    .
    .
    Response from Steve:
    It was nice being out. The wind was making it hard, though (I forgot to add that to my earlier list of excuses!). That sounds like a very interesting course you have in Freeland.

    On hole 16 at Boyd Hill, Victor was on one side of the fairway looking for his disc, and I was on the other side looking for mine. He found a Pro Leopard that someone had lost, and I found an old Dodge hubcap. I decided to be silly and thow the hubcap for my next shot, but when I lifted it, there was a snake underneath. Feb. 29 is early to see snakes, so I wonder if I accidently found its winter hibernation spot. It was a very small garter snake, and I’m sure the underside of the domed metal disc made a comfortable little warming oven for it. I returned the hubcap as closely as I could to its former position to leave the snake at peace.

    I did get your snowy photos, Jeff, and thanks for sharing them. The scenes were so tranquil. I would love to play a round of disc golf in those conditions, particularly if there was a pot of chili or vegetable soup waiting back at the house.

  2. You’ve just about got me thinking of trying a round myownself. I’d need to find a monkey-free course, though. Oz always creeped me out.

    Oh, and please know that I’ve not been ignoring you. I keep forgetting to call my ISP to find out why I can’t send email from Outlook. 8-\

    .
    .
    Response from Steve:
    Hey, Sophie! I didn’t think you were ignoring me. WoO was a creepy movie. At one point when I was a young kid, I read the book, and that may have been before I ever saw the movie — not sure. I remember the book having an adventuresome feel to it, but not as foreboding as the movie. Maybe the characters in my mind weren’t given to overacting!

    Anyway…if you’ve got a course near you, go try it. Just start with two or three discs, and learn to use them as you go, and it should be fun. In sporting goods stores, Innova sells prepackaged starter sets of three, usually a Leopard for distance, a Shark for multi-purpose shots, and an Aviar Putt & Approach for short stuff.

    Good to hear from you.

  3. Number 13 looks tough…was it?

    .
    .
    Response from Steve:
    Compared to some of the holes that preceed it, Hole 13 at Boyd Hill is a piece of cake, but it has a few challenges. You can’t tell in the photo, but there is a deep creek just a few feet past the hole. (The green swath of grass is actually the bank of the creek on the other side climbing back up to the field level.) Also, immediately beside the hole are these four trees. Even if you land your drive close to the hole, you might not have a clear shot on the putt. It’s a very short hole, though, only 193 feet.


Leave a Reply

