Ocracoke Vacation — Day Seven, October 30

While walking in the evening of my seventh day on Ocracoke, I came to a fork in the road. So I took it, heeding Mr. Berra’s advice. It was scratched and mashed free of its curve from its time in traffic, making it more accurately depictive of its moniker, “flatware”. Something good will come of it, surely.

Earlier in the day, around 7:30 in the morning, Michael headed home. It was really nice spending the time with him the last few days. As the morning went by, I decided to go up the island and explore the other beach ramps and roads to the sound that I had not tried yet. Here are some shots from the easternmost soundside entrance.

PA304122

PA304124

PA304126

PA304127

PA304129

Ramp 59 is the easternmost oceanside access.

PA304136

PA304138

I found three more roads to the sound. Two of them were for “Authorized Vehicles Only”, but the other one turned out to be a wonderfully narrow and long path full of deep holes of brown water. At the end of it, I set up the spotting scope and looked around the sound for a bit.

As I moved back down the island, I began to see several people on bicycles. I guessed they were folks staying in Ocracoke who had rented them for the day. When I arrived at the Pony Pasture parking area, I took the boardwalk to the beach for a look. One of the cyclists was there, and I asked her about the group. They were about fifteen women from all over the country who had signed up for a six-day bicycle trip of the entire Outer Banks, starting up at Corolla and coming south. They could each go at their own pace, stopping to examine what particularly interested them. This woman was from New Hampshire. Back at the parking lot I met another one who was from Maryland. She was a birder, and I had seen her earlier, stopping with binoculars to identify some birds. They were to spend the night in Ocracoke and have the next day to relax.

I had lunch at Howard’s Pub, my first time at the popular eatery…conch fritters and a half-pound burger. The afternoon involved visiting two shops which had not been open previously, including an active pottery. That’s where I found the stack of decals which included the elusive Ramp 72 sticker; all other locations had been out of them. The rest of the day was spent just taking it easy around the house, until I went for my walk to the sound at sunset.

PB074251

Published in: on November 7, 2007 at 6:55 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://9balance9.wordpress.com/2007/11/07/ocracoke-vacation-day-seven-october-30/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well, I strained my brain trying to see the humor that I KNOW has to be there…an actual fork in the road…that’s a pun just waiting to be shared! I came up with some really bad half-puns…like, stopping for a bite on the road, etc., but nothing very satisfying. Maybe one of your more creative friends will figure it out! 🙂

    In the meantime, I really like the dune and the sea foam on the beach. And, the truth is, I actually kind of like that fork! The pattern on it sort of resembles waves…Cool find!

    .
    .
    Response from Steve:
    Glad you liked them. I thought the fork pattern looked like waves, too. It’s Oneida, but the pattern name isn’t imprinted on it.

    Even though I’m not a literalist kind of person, there can be humor or even erruptive delight in unexpected expressions of literalism, as in the literalizing of something like Yogi Berra’s shortcircuited logic. It’s a similar principle behind what made Gary Larson’s Far Side comic phenomenon so brilliant. The misconstruance of the expected — even to absurdly silly levels — is a fascinating sort of humor.

  2. I actually read the opening paragraph three times before moving on. I got it, but not until the third time! I love the way you work the ordinary, but unexpected of life into your compositions, and especially in this case the way you came back to it in the end.

    One of the things we discussed with the confirmation youth on the retreat last weekend, was growing into maturity as a Christian. Part of that is taking the time to recognize the presence of God around us, at all times, even in the ordinary. I have a sense that you do that with your pictures.

    I can tell you are enjoying having your DSLR back in your hands. There is something about the particular intensity of the blue in the sky over water that is just amazing and does not seem to occur elsewhere. I really like the diagonal composition of the picture taken out your truck window. Sometimes unconventional things just work when it comes to composition. The moon over the grass on the dunes, very cool.

    Keep writing, and keep shooting!

    .
    .
    Response from Steve:
    I appreciate your comments and encouragement, Jeff. The camera is fun to use, even though my results are often still not what I expect. Your e-mails providing information about digital camera use are helpful, and I need to explore more of what you’ve mentioned.

    You wrote “the presence of God around us, at all times, even in the ordinary.” That is one of the driving themes of excitement in my life. It’s like Elizabeth Barrett Browning says in that wonderful little poem of hers. (And rather than risk a poor paraphrase of it, I’ll let someone who actually can quote it post it, if they wish.)

  3. I am a big fan of the writings of Frederick Buechner. He has many books that have been published, and he has at least one that I am aware of that is a compilation of his various works, assembled as a daily devotional entitled “Listening to your Life”.

    I believe in the very first devotional for January 1 part of what he writes is this: “There is no event so commonplace, so ordinary, that God is not present within.”

    It’s not up to us to ask God to be with us, it is up to us to recognize that he already is.

    .
    .
    Response from Steve:
    Exactly! Well said.

  4. What can one say that hasn’t already been said? Though I love the water and would surely wither away without ready access to the Gulf shore, I think that first picture is my favourite.

    FWIW, I think your fork pattern is called Tuscan.

    .
    .
    Response from Steve:
    How did you know that? Did you look it up, or are you just some kind of silverware savant?

  5. Actually, it’s Tuscany. I just took a quick peek at the Oneida site. I went strsight to the end of their list, thinking it might just be called WAVES and there it was. 8-}

    I’ll be coming back to look at these pictures again and again, I’m sure.

    .
    .
    Response from Steve:
    Wow, thanks for checking on the fork pattern. And I’m glad you like the pictures. The dune in that first picture was a surprise; I didn’t know it was there until I drove down the little road. It was like a micro-version of Jockey’s Ridge.


Leave a Reply

