Walking


P8013308

This afternoon Faulkner and I went walking in the woods for a short while. He found two dead turtles. He soaked himself in the spring. And I remembered one of the great advantages of last week’s hike where there were no trees: you don’t get spider webs in your face. Well, today there were so many spider webs that I had to use an antler (a long, branched stick that you hold in front of yourself, catching the webs and spiders as you walk). I looked like some kind of overgrown, backwoods acolyte, but I made it back home mostly web-free.

Published in: on September 26, 2007 at 6:20 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://9balance9.wordpress.com/2007/09/26/walking/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Walks are always adventures! I know what you mean about spiders; I visited Seattle last week and took a long hike in the Cascades, the spider webs were endless. In my case, I just walked behind my 6’4″ brother, problem solved (for me) 🙂 Good luck on future walks.

  2. Faulkner looks much more well-behaved than either of my crew. Is that a trick of photography? Or is he more low-key than I’ve imagined? Haven’t had to deal with spider webs in the face in a long time and…I really don’t miss it at all! 🙂

  3. Sarah, nice to hear from you. That sounds like a wonderful part of the country to occupy with outdoor pursuits. I need to go there sometime.

    Kimberlee, Faulkner is much more sedate now that he has some years on him (7), but he can still act like a puppy when the conditions are right. He doesn’t wrestle with me as fiercely as he once did.

  4. Definitely visit the northwest if you can, it is some of the most beautiful countryside I’ve ever seen. We only had one day to get out of the city, but just an hour out of town we were deep into mountains and rivers and miles of wild country. The hiking possibilities were endless if only we’d had time.

  5. I remember dealing with spider webs while a counselor at Asbury Hills. We encountered them hiking on the many trails at the camp. I would get them in the face whether I was leading the group or bringing up the rear. I remember looking at my glasses at the end of the day wondering how they got the alligator skin pattern on them. It took a few minutes to realize that I had captured part of a spider web on their surface.


Leave a Reply

