It Was Bound to Happen

Dinosaur Eggs

The fruit stand display declared “Pluot”
(a completely bewildering new lot).
It seduced very sweetly
when bitten discreetly,
but with habanero was too hot.

Published in: on September 17, 2007 at 9:59 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://9balance9.wordpress.com/2007/09/17/it-was-bound-to-happen/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So you are resorting to limericks now?

  2. I know. It’s sad. Times are hard, poetically speaking.

  3. Your poem is quite entertaining.
    To match your quick wit I am straining.
    I admire your bravery
    To gulp such a savoury;
    My taste buds would still be complaining.

  4. I like it, Sophie! Cool response.

  5. Big heat comes in small packages. Just in case you need a rule of thumb for try other peppers. 😎
    Also when cutting hot peppers remember not to touch the eyes or nose before waching the hands. (10 mins should take off enough skin to do the trick)

  6. Yes. In what seems like a former life, I grew hot peppers, nine different varieties at once. Sometimes, hours after cooking with peppers, I would rub my eyes only to be surprised by the burning pain.

  7. How engrossed in the story I got!
    The tale had my nerves tied in knots
    But the story twice told
    Began to unfold
    When Habanero unraveled the Pluot.

  8. Hey, Bryan, that’s really sharp! I’m happy to have some of your writing grace this blog, even if it is just a limerick. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

