Cool Phone Call


P6081830

This afternoon I got a phone call from my sister, Andrea. That’s her in the photograph, in case you hadn’t figured that out. Anyway, she was, live at that moment, paddling a kayak across a lake in Seattle! It was her first time ever kayaking, and she called to tell me about it. She was on Green Lake — which I found on the map — and the boat was something by Perception. I could hear the paddle working as she held the phone between her shoulder and ear. And she did it all without dropping the phone in the water…of course I don’t know what might have happened after she hung up. That was fun.

Published in: on August 25, 2007 at 12:22 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://9balance9.wordpress.com/2007/08/25/cool-phone-call/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That is awesome!!! And, she called you . . . we won’t say “to rub it in”! But, that is cool!!!! C

  2. It was fun. i think i might do it again, on Greenlake or somewhere else.
    It was slightly unnerving when i wouldn’t get the paddle deep enough in the water on the left side and push too hard and rock the kayak, feeling like i was about to flip myself over.

  3. Hi! Found your website while doing my own searching on line, and loved your photos. We’re starting a kayak/canoe rental service on the Catawba River from Ft. Mill on down, so if you want to paddle with friends who don’t have a kayak, check our website and we’ll help arrange a trip! We also do just shuttles if someone has their own kayak. So glad other people are enjoying the Catawba as much as we do!

  4. Nice to hear from you, Jan. Thanks for stopping in. Please visit back often, and I look forward to seeing you and your family out on the river sometime.

  5. Love your sister’s hair! I’ve always been partial to long hair myownself and just recently trimmed mine to waist length. 8-]

    Good job not dropping the phone! 8-}

    And what a blessing to have such a close family! Treasure every moment!

    I really enjoyed your vine pics/posts. I’ve always loved vines. No garden, IMHO, is complete without a vine-covered arbor. Wisteria is pretty near the top of my all-time favourites list.

    Have a JESUS-filled day! ^i^

  6. Hey, Sophie. Glad you liked the vines. Your comment about the garden reminds me of a sentiment I attempted to express in a poem called “This November Crawling” back around 1997. I might post it before the vine theme gets too far past.


Leave a Reply

