A Few Days at Sullivan’s Island.3


P7123151

My first of three kayak journeys took me past a large variety of other vessels. Charleston and the surrounding communities are truly water towns. Life here is ordered and sustained and balanced and sometimes destroyed by the tidal movement of Atlantic’s western edge.

I climbed into the 700 from the dock — not particularly easy, by the way — and nosed out into the creek were a dolphin had been vigorously feeding (?) earlier in the morning. My trip took me down the creek, past interesting houses and boats, and I got close views of American Oystercatchers and White Ibises feeding.

I crossed into the Intracoastal Waterway and experienced my first taste of chaotic wave action in this kayak. Yes, it was surely mild compared to what seasoned sea kayakers are used to, but it was enough to require careful attention on my part to keep from capsizing. The waters then got a little rougher as I entered Charleston Harbor. The kayak behaved nicely,though, and I made it past the confluence into easier waters. Fort Sumter was directly ahead of me, and the new Ravenel Bridge and city of Charleston were to my right.

The thought briefly flickered in my mind to paddle over to the fort, but I didn’t feel comfortable yet attempting a crossing of a busy shipping lane. After some more time paddling along the edge of the harbor, I turned back and faced the choppy waters again. A large cabin yacht was coming up behind me, and I didn’t want to have to deal with his wake in the harsh water. So I raced ahead, beating him to the mouth of the waterway, and crusing well into the smooth water before he caught me. Then his wake was easier to negotiate. I strolled my way casually back up the creek to the dock, enjoying the smells of marsh in the sunshine.

Published in: on July 15, 2007 at 8:20 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://9balance9.wordpress.com/2007/07/15/a-few-days-at-sullivans-island3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow! That looks like a great get-away spot! And it’s cool that you had the opportunity to “test” your kayak and yourself in a more challenging environment. Pretty soon you’ll be ready for the big pool! Ha!

  2. How are you keeping your camera dry?

  3. I keep the camera in a dry bag when I’m not actually using it. The bag is latched around one of the deck bungies so that if I capsize, the bag and camera will remain attached to the kayak. There are better systems, but I’m not there, yet.

  4. …and in case it was confusing, by “strolled” I meant paddled my way slowly, casually, not “got out and walked.”


Leave a Reply

